Inner Beauty

I was planning on going up to the new boutique on 5th Ave. in New York this week, but once again it looks like mother nature is going to prevent me from going…  This winter has been brutal!  Oh well, I will get there soon enough.  Hopefully next week is the week.

In the meantime, I promised a couple posts back to talk about a sick vintage Breitling I recently came across, so here goes.  The owner of this watch is one of the biggest Breitling collectors I have ever met.  He has owned more than thirty different Breitlings over the years, and the one he had that is of particular interest to me is an older Cosmonaute.

Over the last few months, Breitling has started to release some limited edition pieces with exhibition casebacks.  These watches are some of the hotter models Breitling has come out with in years.  They are absolutely gorgeous and incredibly well made with the new in-house B01 movement.  I highly recommend both the Chronomat 01 and the Navitimer 01, and I cannot wait to see the Transocean 01 in person.

One of the rare Breitling watches that was produced with an exhibition caseback prior to these recent releases was back in the mid-90s and it featured the lemania-based hand-wound Caliber 12 movement.  The watch was the special-edition Cosmonaute reference A12023, and I am absolutely in love with it.  The face of the watch is great, but check out how beautiful this movement is!  Thanks for the pics, Tom!  I am not sure you should have let this one go!!!

Breitling Cosmonaute - hand wound movement

Do you think Breitling will ever come out with another in-house hand-wound movement?  Mark me down as one who thinks they should!  Now that would be another stepping-stone for a brand that is clearly heading in the right direction.

2 thoughts on “Inner Beauty

  1. At least you were able to pick up another disaply back Tom. It’s hard to believe you let this one go. I’d like to see the display backs standard on the new 01 models but I know that’s wishful thinking.

    George – what do you think the price difference wll be in the Transocean with the display back compared to the standard model that will come out?

Leave a Reply

