Brand Sponsorship

Who would you want as your sponsor?

I always love seeing which watch brands famous actors, athletes, musicians and events are sponsored by.  I was fortunate enough to go to Wimbledon a couple years ago, and Rolex was everywhere at the All England Club.  Meanwhile, I could not help but notice Rory Mcllroy had an Audemars Piguet patch on his shirtsleeve while playing the Masters a couple weeks ago and rocked an AP stainless steel Royal Oak Chronograph with a silver dial once he was done.  I love that AP by the way!

I am now reading that Longines is the official timekeeper of the upcoming Kentucky Derby and that the winner of this year’s race will get a Longines Column-Wheel Chronograph.  I remember Hublot was the official timekeeper of this past summer’s World Cup in South Africa and how a huge Hublot digital game clock was used and held up when substitutions were made.

I cannot help but dream about which brand I would choose as my sponsor if I had my choice of the litter.  You probably have never seen Patek Philippe sponsoring a person or an event because they never have!  Regardless of who you are or what you do, Patek Philippe never gives out a watch for free.  If they did, however, and were part of the field, what watch brand would you choose as your sponsor?  Would you go with a big brand name or a brand that flies more under the radar?

3 thoughts on “Brand Sponsorship

  1. I’d have to go with Panerai. It’s more and more popular, but I still love their designs and the fact they aren’t too mainstream.

  2. Omega is my choice. I like their involvement with many events. Their creativity in incorporating logos, such as the Olympics circles on the sweep second hand and on significant locations on the watches. The brand is quite easily recognized. They have a good budget and are perhaps seen as a long term stable company by many. “My grandfather had an Omega”.

Leave a Reply

