Vintage Appeal

I am not a crazy vintage guy.  There are some watch collectors I know who are head over heels when it comes to vintage watches.  I am not one of them, at least not yet.  I could definitely see myself getting there, but I have not quite gotten into that craze at this point in my life.  Generally speaking, I like vintage watches, but I don’t love them.  For whatever reason, however, I love vintage Breitlings.

 When I was at the Breitling boutique last week, I could not stop looking at the vintage collection they had in their small museum section of the building.  I found the timepieces simply fascinating.


I kept asking myself, are the vintage Breitling Datora and vintage Breitling Chronomat models not absolutely awesome?  There really is something about them. 

 The dial of the vintage Datora is incredibly clean.  I absolutely love the layout of it; the Arabic numerals, day and month windows just below 12 o’clock and then date hand circling the interior of the bezel go together great.

The dial of the vintage Chronomat is much of the same; it is very clean and simple.  I like how it has the moonphase at 12 o’clock.  Meanwhile, any vintage Breilting chronograph is special, because it reminds you of how Breitling developed the first independent chronograph pushpiece back in 1923.  Prior to that year, chronograph functions were controlled using the crown.

The vintage Breitling that may take the cake for me is the Top Time.  It is absolutely money!  I love contrasting subdials.  It is the reason why I like the limited edition Superocean Heritage Chronograph so much, regardless of which of the three dial configurations you are looking at.  This Top Time bad boy then has the red chronograph hand that really puts everything together.  The white stitching on the black crocodile leather strap does not go unnoticed by me either.

I definitely want to add a vintage Breitling to my collection on day.  I am sure that I would really enjoy it.  The question is, which one would be the watch to add if I had myself the choice of the litter.  I can only hope that I would ever be faced with that decision one day…

2 thoughts on “Vintage Appeal

  1. As always a great report. One thing that I like about the Navitimer is that Breitling has never “strayed” from their roots. When one sees a Navitimer, it is obviously from this great lineage.

  2. Some great pics there. I really like that Top Time, and it’s no surprise that I’m a big fan of what I’ve seen so far from the new Transocean Chrono. I’m hoping to finally get the chance to try one on in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

