Vintage Vegas

I went out to Vegas last week with the intention of making some memories and checking out some sweet timepieces. I know, it is a tough life I have… Needless to say, the trip lived up to my expectations and then some. I could not believe how many cool watches were out there in Sin City! For those Breitling lovers out there, you really would have been heaven. I got to try on some incredibly classic models.

The first one was an 18kt rose gold vintage Chronomat from the 1940s. This bad boy features the Venus 175 movement and is incredibly clean. I absolutely love the use of the Arabic numerals to indicate the hours, and the red chronograph is simply money with the rose gold case and brown strap.

I also saw a stainless steel version of the Chronomat with the manual-winding Venus 175 chronograph movement. This model is from the 1960s and features a silver dial with a rare outer black bi-directional telemeter ring. Talk about another ridiculously sharp watch! Little did I know that it would only get better.

I then laid my eyes on a 1959 “AOPA” Navitimer. Members of the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association would have literally lost it. This watch was the sickest vintage Breitling I have ever seen. I want it! The whole watch is perfect. I absolutely love the dark brown strap with white stitching on the black dial. The dial speaks for itself.

For all those left-handed watch lovers, I then tried on a vintage Chrono-Matic 8806 from the early 1970s with the crown on the left side of the watch. It was a very sharp and unique watch. I am surprised there are not more watches with crowns at nine o’clock instead of three o’clock.

Lastly, I got to handle two rare 809 24-hour stainless steel Cosmonautes. One was in stainless steel, while the other was in 14k gold. These watch are from the 1960s and were used during the days of intense space exploration. With the 24-hour dial display, astronauts could distinguish between am and pm while in space.

Not bad, huh?

3 thoughts on “Vintage Vegas

  1. The silver dial Chronomat with the outer black ring looks amazing. I wish some of the newer models they come out would look that good.

Leave a Reply

