Old School Gem

A new limited edition model that Breitling will launch soon is the Superocean GMT with a green bezel.  The 41mm model houses the Breitling Caliber 32 movement and is available on either a rubber strap or a stainless steel bracelet.  I have seen the standard production version with a black bezel in person and think it is pretty nice.  The price tag is reasonable at $4,105 too.  GMT models from some other brands go for twice as much.

While I think the Superocean GMT looks like it will be pretty cool, it is definitely not my favorite Breitling with a colored bezel.  I am still currently in the midst of my vintage obsession, and I cannot stop looking at the blue dial Brietling 2016 Sprint Chronograph.  This bad boy looks like it has some serious pop to it!  I absolutely love the blue bezel, and the red hands and white hour markers go together with it perfectly.

The 1970s model uses the manual-winding Valjoux 7730 chronograph movement and is 40mm in size.  The watch was originally designed for runners and is extremely light; it was named the Sprint for that reason.  While this Breitling does not have the brand’s signature slide rule, the bezel on the watch is calibrated to read your pulse.  Not too shabby of a watch, huh?

3 thoughts on “Old School Gem

  1. Love the “chiseled” edges of the brushed case on the Sprint. It has just the right balance with the 5 minute markers and square cut of the hands.

    Thanks George for another great post.

  2. I’m not a fan of the new Superocean GMT. I just don’t know if I like the green rubber bezel. The Sprint looks amazing and I’d still love to see Breitling make a retro piece like this.

Leave a Reply

